

9,4.1.

## THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF PARRY SOUND RESOLUTION IN COUNCIL

NO. 2024 - 099

DIVISION LIST	YES NO	DATE: June 18, 2024
Councillor G. ASHFORD		MOVED BY:
Councillor J. BELESKEY Councillor P. BORNEMAN		BKERL
Councillor <b>B. KEITH</b> Councillor <b>D. McCANN</b>		SECONDED BY:
Councillor C. McDONALD Mayor J. McGARVEY		Call W/ GA.
CARRIED: DEFEATE	D: Postp	ooned to:

WHEREAS the Town of Parry Sound faces challenges related to limited access to transportation, and there exists a pressing need for a ridesharing service to address transportation gaps within our community; and

WHEREAS rideshare services are increasingly relied upon by seniors, students, visitors and tourists and residents looking for safe, affordable, convenient and reliable ways to travel; and

WHEREAS the standardization and consistency of regulations across municipalities, particularly in Ontario, can improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the regulatory framework; and

WHEREAS transferring the responsibility of rideshare regulations and licensing to the provincial level would contribute to a more streamlined and uniform governance structure, while eliminating associated red tape and unnecessary administrative costs; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Town of Parry Sound hereby expresses its support for the migration of rideshare regulations and licensing from the municipal level to the provincial level; and

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED that the Town of Parry Sound formally requests the Government of Ontario to initiate the transfer of responsibilities in the interest of creating a more coherent and standardized regulatory framework for ridesharing services across the province; and

FINALLY BE IT RESOLVED that copies of this motion be distributed to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; the Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation; the Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; the Honourable Graydon Smith Member of Provincial Parliament for Parry Sound-Muskoka and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

Mayor Jamie McGarvey